Carlos Slim Foundation’s Migrant Program receives the Alfonso García Robles 2023 Award from UNAM

The Carlos Slim Foundation’s Migrant Program has been awarded the Alfonso García Robles 2023 Recognition, granted by UNAM for its outstanding actions in benefit of Mexicans and Spanish-speakers living in the United States.

Carlos Slim Foundation has carried out continuous work with various actors in the area of migration, with the purpose of providing online advice in Spanish so that migrants can carry out different procedures such as obtaining identification documents and driver’s licenses. It has also provided support in obtaining legal assistance, knowing their rights within the U.S. and providing updated information on the DACA program.

In alliance with the UNAM representations in the United States, the Ciudadanízate course was developed, which, through videos, provides all the information people need to access U.S. citizenship: from knowing their eligibility for citizenship to preparing for the citizenship test.

Since 2014, the portal of the Foundation’s Migrant Program has become a reference for information and guidance on various aspects of the immigration process for the Latino community.

Enrique Graue Wiechers, rector of the National Autonomous University of Mexico, pointed out that in a global context where migrants face new challenges in the search for a better quality of life, civil society has undertaken initiatives of aid and solidarity with humanitarian actions that address the suffering and vulnerability of migrants.

He mentioned that UNAM and its branches in the United States joined the Carlos Slim Foundation’s initiative to help the migrant community that could obtain American citizenship and that due to ignorance of the laws in force in that country had not done so.

Rector Enrique Graue Wiechers emphasized that the Alfonso García Robles award is both a manifestation of the values and aspirations of the nation’s University and a reminder of the importance of the collective effort to build a world with greater opportunities, and that is more just and less unequal.

The award was received on behalf of the Carlos Slim Foundation by Vanessa Slim de Hajj.

Alfonso García Robles 2023 Award Recipients

  1. Romero Center, Chicago, IL, USA.
  2. Migrant Program of the Carlos Slim Foundation, Mexico City, Mexico.
  3. Lawyers for Civil Rights, Boston, MA, USA
  4. Accueil Parrainage Outaouais, Gatineau (Québec), Canada
  5. Norma Romero Vásquez, Coordinator of “Las Patronas”. Group for humanitarian aid to migrants. Amatlán de los Reyes, Veracruz, Mexico.
  6. Casa Marianella, Austin, TX, USA.
  7. Derechos Humanos Integrales en Acción, A.C. (DHIA), Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, Mexico